So, the other day I get a message on my big computer that ntfs.sys is missing or corrupted, and I need to use my Windows CD to repair it. No big deal, right?

Except that my Windows CD doesn’t boot. But this also isn’t a big deal, I just need to get in there and transfer the stuff off my F partition. I don’t care about C since I don’t keep anything on there, so erasing is no issue. I decide to break out my old Knoppix DVD and try that. I get the initial screen where it gives me boot options, but then the screen goes blank and nothing happens.

I figure, at this point, the hell with it. I’ll simply install Linux on this computer. Format the C drive, install Gentoo, everything’s set. Except that the Gentoo install CD does the exact same thing as the Knoppix DVD did. I don’t know why. Anybody have any suggestions on what I can do? At this point either to get Windows working again or, better, to get Gentoo going on there. As long as I can use BitTorrent, network with my laptop, and play videos on my TV, I don’t much care what OS is on there, but I do want one that is reasonably stable and doesn’t pick up spyware like gum on the bottom of my digital shoes.

EDIT: And the Cam site is down so I can’t check on my Legacy app, which really annoys me. I think I need a hug.

EDIT 2: Gonna kill, gonna kill, gonna kill.

