Joseph: “Seems to be a lot of prayers for a man named ‘George Bailey.'”
Clarence: “Why? Is he sick?”
Joseph: “Worse. Frustrated.”

I’ve been frustrated recently. There’s so much to do and not so much time to do it, and I’m starting to feel a little overwhelmed. I especially feel so because I feel like, despite having a lot of work, it’s like I’m wasting my time there. The kids are so apathetic this close to the end of the school year that I can’t accomplish anything with them, so I’d rather be at home doing something useful like answering emails, writing plotkits, or answering LJ memes that I haven’t had time for (which I’ll try to get to today).

Otherwise, things are at least getting better. I really, really needed Thursday night. And it helped quite a bit. At the very least when I went into work the next day I was able to shrug off the fact that the kids simply had no interest in the plans for the day or doing anything besides talking to one another. I wish some other people could make it, but it was nice to hang out, drink a little, and spend time with people that I care about.

Ironman last night was incredible. I was really, really happy with it. They got Tony Stark’s personality perfectly, and Robert Downey Jr. hit the acting just right. The music was good, if not a major focus of the film (I liked whatever the song was when he was first flying in the suit). I got so many ideas for my Lost, and have remodeled his mansion in my head. Also, loved the suits (fabric ones, not the Ironman ones) that Tony wore throughout the film. The only two things I didn’t like were the relationship between Pepper and Tony (it stayed largely platonic in the comics, which was a good dynamic) and the fact that they put the Mandarin in the film, but made him Arabic and largely pointless. However, between the look, his placement in the film, and how he kept playing with the large ring on his finger, I could see what they were implying. pendragon had a good theory, though: this was one of the Mandarin’s lieutenants and was given a ring to help do whatever he wanted done in the Middle East (or was it Afghanistan, I can’t remember?) and, now that he’s dead, he’ll get the ring back, hence why the “terrorist group” was called “Ten Rings.” Otherwise, I thought there was a great balance of humor and action, as well as a good use of secondary characters (implication that James Rhodes eventually becomes Ironman was good, for example).

Gonna go back to getting stuff done today, though. Plenty left on my list, and this little side-project is just a distraction.

