In answering a question posted by Pokchop, I went to the website that explained the Monkeysphere, which is a wonderful theory that amuses me to no end. Suffice it to say, I followed a link to another article by the same person, 7 Reasons Why the 21st Century is Making Us Miserable. It’s actually a really interesting read. I don’t know how accurate it is (could just be a joke), but I think it’s interestingly and entertainingly presented.

Just as an example from the article, look back in your past LJ posts, and compare the replies to negative posts to those of positive posts. Then, compare that result to this quote, “If I post an article called, ‘Fall Out Boy is a Fine Band’ and on the same day post one called, ‘Fall Out Boy is the Worst Band of the Last 100 Years, Say Experts,’ which do you think will get the most traffic? Let me tell you from experience it’s the second one, by a 10-1 ratio. Outrage manufactures word-of-mouth.”

My favorite quote from it is, unsurprisingly, “It ain’t rocket science; you are a social animal and thus you are born with little happiness hormones that are released into your bloodstream when you see someone else benefitting from your actions. You can line up for yourself a spread of your favorite liquor, your favorite video game, your favorite movie and your favorite sex act, and the sum total of them won’t give you the same kind of lasting happiness you’d get from helping the cranky old lady down the street drag her garbage to the curb. ”

Check it out.

