Well, I think I inadvertantly donated money to a Scientologist charity today. Jake had me waiting while he had his job interview and there was a small art show outside. I find a painting I really like, fail my entrancement check, and buy it plus a frame for $25. Not a bad deal at all. More to the point, it’s for a charity that tries to keep kids off of drugs, which is a good thing. Suffice to say, I start talking with the guy running the show, and he starts talking about how much of a genius L. Ron Hubbard is. I don’t like the guy’s work, but ok. Then he tells me how L. Ron Hubbard wrote more than anybody other man ever (63,000,000 words!!!!), to which I inform him that Isaac Asimov and Robert Heinlien both wrote more than L. Ron Hubbard. Appearantly, it only seems that way because I’ve never seen the “secret writings.” At this point the warning klaxons are going off, but still, nothing that big. Next he asks me if I have any problems, because L. Ron Hubbard has written things that can solve my problems. I should have told him what my friend Ben suggested (“I have a penpal named Xenu that wants me to help him take over other people’s souls, but the problem is I just don’t have the time”), but I instead informed him that my life is devoid of any problems and that I am a statistical anomoly. Shortly after that I left, figuring I had done a good thing and met a strange person.

It wasn’t until later that I looked at the pamphlet that the guy gave me and discovered that this charity I had donated to is run by L. Ron Hubbard himself. Now, I’m not the most suspicious person in the world, but I think I now know what happened here. Still, I walked away with a nice painting and don’t think L. Ron Hubbard is anything more than a mediocre sci-fi author who makes a killing occationally making a killing.

Also, you’ll notice a new face on my Friend’s page. That would be my good friend from way back, Ben. Check out his stuff, it’s interesting to the fullest. Now, I must get back to reading because the alien criminal soul that inhabits me tells me to.

